Washtenaw Guide.com - your online community guide Click for Dexter, Michigan Forecast
  Search WashtenawGuide.com and
  AnnArborObserver.com
  
Contact Us | Subscribe | Advertise
CHELSEA
DEXTER
SALINE
HOME
OVERVIEW ARTS ATTRACTIONS CHILDREN COMMUNITY SERVICE EDUCATION EXCURSIONS GOVERNMENT GROUPS AND CLUBS HEALTH CARE HOUSING LODGING MAJOR EVENTS MEDIA PARKING AND TRANSPORTATION RELIGION RESTAURANTS SHOPPING SPORTS, RECREATION, AND OUTDOORS

Dexter

Government

Chelsea · Dexter · Saline


Bookmark and Share

For county and state officials, see the Government section of AnnArborObserver.com.

City Offices. 8123 Main. (734) 426-8303, dextermi.gov

City Manager (Interim) and City Clerk: Justin Breyer (734) 580-2234, jbreyer@dextemi.gov.

Mayor and City Council. (734) 426-8303. Dexter is governed by a 7-member city council (including the mayor), serving staggered four-year terms and elected on an at-large, nonpartisan basis. The council meets the 2nd & 4th Mon. 6 p.m. via Zoom during Covid-19. Mayor Shawn Keough, term expires Nov. 2022 (skeough@dextermi.gov). Mayor pro tem: Paul Cousins, term expires Nov. 2022 (pcousins@dextermi.gov). Council members: Sunam Arab, term expires Nov. 2022 (sarab@dextermi.gov); Donna Fisher, term expires Nov. 2022 (dfisher@dextermi.gov). Jaime Griffin, term expires Nov. 2024 (jgriffin@dextermi.gov). Wa-Louisa Hubbard, term expires Nov. 2024 (whubbardr@dextermi.gov). Zach Michels, term expires Nov. 2024 (zmichels@dextermi.gov). City Elections are the day after the 1st Mon. in Nov. of even-numbered years. Residents may register to vote at the city office at 8123 Main, 2nd floor, at Michigan Secretary of State offices (the nearest are at 1113 S. Main in Chelsea and Maple Village shopping center in Ann Arbor), or online at michigan.gov/sos.

Planning Commission. Matt Kowalski chairs this nine-member commission appointed by the city council. The commission reviews site plans on development proposals; holds public hearings on zoning ordinance amendments and special land use applications. Meets 1st Mon. 7 p.m. via Zoom.

Parks & Recreation Commission. Becky Murillo chairs this seven-member commission appointed by the city council. Meets 3rd Tues. 7 p.m. via Zoom.

Dexter Area Fire Department: (734) 426-4500

Washtenaw County Sheriff: (734) 994-2911

Dexter Downtown Development Authority. Governed by a 12-member board chaired by Doug Finn, the DDA promotes the economic development of Dexter's downtown business district. Meets 3rd Thurs. 7:30 a.m. via Zoom.

Dexter Economic Development Corporation. Led by Jim Carson, this 9-member board assists the city in attracting and retaining businesses, primarily in the Dexter Business and Research Park, in order to strengthen and revitalize the local economy. Meets on an as-needed basis. dextermi.gov/economic-development-corporation-1.

Related Topics:



Next Section: Dexter Groups And Clubs

Copyright © 2004-2021, Ann Arbor Observer. Thank you for visiting.
-
Site Map